Home » Stations of the Cross

Stations of the Cross

Good Friday icon Stations of the Cross (or Way of the Cross; in Latin, Via Crucis; also called the Via Dolorosa or Way of Sorrows, or simply, The Way) is an adaptation to local usage of a custom widely observed by pilgrims to Jerusalem: the offering of prayers at a series of stops representative our Lord’s passion and death. We host the Stations of the Cross in beautiful Cathedral Park at the Bishop Jones Center, 111 Torcido, San Antonio 78209, in a  public setting, allowing all who are interested to take the journey with us.

The number of stations, which at first varied widely, finally became fixed at fourteen. Of these, eight are based directly on events recorded in the Gospels. The remaining six (numbers 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, and 13) are based on inferences from the Gospel account or from pious legend. The form which follows is appropriate either as a public service or as a private devotion, particularly on the Fridays of Lent.  This year we are using a new liturgy that makes greater use of Holy Scripture and also uses more contemporary English.

Traditionally, the stations are made before a series of plain wooden crosses placed along the walls of the church or in some other convenient place. At this Stations of the Cross, along with  each cross there is a creative representation of the event being commemorated.

One thought on “Stations of the Cross

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s